Practice Area: Banking + Financial Institutions

Practice Chair: T. Daniel Brannan

Presentations + Publications
Overview

Banking + Financial Institutions

The Banking & Financial Institutions Practice Group’s mission is to provide affordable consultative solutions to its clients in the banking and financial services industry. James Bates strives to assist financial institutions in addressing and resolving a variety of complex legal and regulatory issues in the most cost efficient manner possible. Our attorneys offer objective advice and recommendations, along with industry best practices to financial institutions.

The firm’s clients include publicly and privately held community banks; insurance companies; finance companies; investment companies; private equity funds; private investors; check cashing processors; and consulting companies in the financial institutions arena.

Our specialized knowledge in the Financial Institutions industry is used to your advantage to assist in the following practice areas:

We assist clients in the formation of relationships and the settlement of disputes with customers, vendors, and other financial services companies, including the negotiation and preparation of appropriate documentation. We can respond to operational issues involving forms review and development; marketing and advertising materials review; account agreements; expedited funds availability; preparation of policy and procedures materials; and assistance with cash management products. James Bates assists clients before regulatory authorities, including the Federal Reserve, the FDIC, the OCC and the Georgia Department of Banking and Finance.

Our attorneys have been involved in bank mergers, sales, and purchase of banks, as well as other related transactions. These transactions have included acquisitions for stock, for cash, and for combinations of stock and cash, and both purchase and pooling-of-interests accounting.

In addition, our attorneys have experience in complex or unusual lending transactions; loan workouts; consumer lending; collection efforts; bankruptcy; leasing, sales/leaseback arrangements; and intercreditor agreements/letters of credit.

Above all, the firm’s Banking and Financial Institutions Practice Group offers responsive, affordable, client-focused service in a consultative setting.

Banking + Financial Institutions Attorneys

Name Phone Number Email Practice Areas
David B. Anderson
Associate
478.742.4280 DAnderson@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Commercial Litigation
James F. Banter
Associate
478.749.9992 JBanter@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Litigation
J. William Boone
Partner
404.844.2766 BBoone@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Bankruptcy, Workouts and Reorganization
  • Mediation
  • Arbitration
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Litigation
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Chapter 15 Representation
T. Daniel Brannan
Partner
404.997.6023 DBrannan@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Real Estate
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
Campbell T. Brantley
Associate
404.997.6020 CBrantley@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Government Guaranteed Lending (SBA, USDA)
Lyn G. Clinton
Counsel
404.978.7810 LSchroeder@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Business
  • Litigation
  • Securities
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Directors and Officers Liability
David S. Cromer
Associate
478.336.5503 DCromer@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Richard A. Epps, Jr.
Counsel
478.749.9917 REpps@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Real Estate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Litigation
Corrie E. Hall
Partner
478.749.9949 CHall@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Subrogation
  • Employment
S. Elizabeth Hall
Counsel
478.742.4280 EHall@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Commercial Litigation
Heather D. Hestley
Partner
404.997.6032 HHestley@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate Law
  • Business Law
  • Real Estate
  • Government Guaranteed Lending (SBA, USDA)
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
John B. (Jack) Nichols
Counsel
478.749.9982 JNichols@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Appellate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Employment
  • Insurance
  • Litigation
Sara Kate Rumsey
Associate
404.997.7516 SKRumsey@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Corporate + Transactional
Ross S. Schell
Partner
478.749.9927 RSchell@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Real Estate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Alec N. Sedki
Counsel
404.997.7511 ASedki@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Environmental
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Construction Law
  • Litigation
William J. Sheppard
Partner
404.997.6026 WSheppard@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Environmental
  • Construction
  • Partnership
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Real Estate Development
  • Eminent Domain
  • Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Bradley C. Skidmore
Partner
404.997.6030 BSkidmore@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Real Estate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Commercial Real Estate
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Healthcare Industry Employment and Succession
  • Outside General Counsel and Business Transactions
Bryson M. Smith
Associate
404.997.7505 BSmith@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Real Estate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Kim H. Stroup
Counsel
478.749.9929 KStroup@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Creditor Bankruptcy
  • Probate Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Real Estate
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Adoptions
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Eminent Domain
Michael N. White
Partner
478.749.9921 MWhite@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Securities Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Real Estate
  • Commercial Law
Doroteya N. Wozniak
Associate
404.997.6031 DWozniak@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Business
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Commercial Litigation
< Back to Practice Areas