Practice Area: Corporate + Transactional

Practice Chair: Chason L. Harrison, Jr.

Presentations + Publications
Overview

Corporate + Transactional

James Bates enjoys a dynamic and sophisticated corporate and transactional practice. Our attorneys regularly counsel clients, negotiate, document, and close complex business acquisitions, draft a variety of corporate and contractual agreements, and develop creative solutions to business and transactional issues.

Our Corporate and Transactional Group handles a wide variety of corporate matters, including general corporate advice; shareholder representation; asset purchases; stock purchases; mergers; partnership issues and agreements; employment agreements; letters of intent; secured transactions; ancillary real estate issues; taxation; and tax-deferred exchanges.

Our attorneys frequently assist clients in the organization and operation of corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships and other business entities, and in the preparation of organizational documents, bylaws, operating agreements, subscription agreements, employment agreements, and confidentiality and noncompetition agreements.

Our attorneys are experienced with all major issues that arise in structuring and negotiating acquisitions. We are also intimately familiar with corporate governance and choice-of-entity issues that impact many of our business clients. We strive to handle our clients’ corporate and transactional matters in a timely, businesslike manner, with an emphasis on efficiency and creativity.

Corporate + Transactional Attorneys

Name Phone Number Email Practice Areas
Andrew T. Barksdale
Associate
404.844.2768 ABarksdale@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Healthcare
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
W. Carter Bates III
Partner
478.749.9906 CBates@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Tax Law
  • Business Law
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Asset Protection Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Tax-Exempt Organizations
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
J. William Boone
Partner
404.844.2766 BBoone@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Bankruptcy, Workouts and Reorganization
  • Mediation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Litigation
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
T. Daniel Brannan
Partner
404.997.6023 DBrannan@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Real Estate
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
W. Collins Brown
Associate
404.844.2759 CBrown@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
Matthew Couvillion
Associate
404.997.7507 MCouvillion@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Tax Law
  • Tax-Exempt Organizations
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Estate Planning
  • Asset Protection Planning
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Business Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Chason L. Harrison, Jr.
Partner
404.997.7504 CHarrison@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Walker W. Kinney
Associate
404.977.7512 WKinney@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Michelle LaLonde
Of Counsel
404.997.7510 MLalonde@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • General Corporate Business Law Agreements
  • Licensing and Distribution Agreements
  • Gift Tax Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Wills and Trusts
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Healthcare
Hays B McQueen
Of Counsel
478.749.9915 HMcqueen@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Business Planning
  • Asset Protection
Kort D. L. Peterson
Of Counsel
478.749.9924 KPeterson@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Taxation
  • Tax Controversy
  • Estate Planning
  • Tax-Exempt Organizations
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Sara Kate Rumsey
Associate
404.997.7516 SKRumsey@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Corporate + Transactional
Jeffrey M. Rutledge
Partner
478.749.9985 JRutledge@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Estate Planning
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Asset Protection Planning
  • Probate and Estate Administration
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
John W. Sillay
Associate
478.749.9923 JSillay@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
Thomas A. Simpson
Of Counsel
404.997.7506 TSimpson@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Commercial Agreements
  • Real Estate
  • Regulatory Compliance
Marshall S. Sims
Associate
404.987.7899 MSims@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
Dan Speight
Of Counsel
478.749.9928 DSpeight@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
Stephen G. Swinson
Associate
478.749.9940 SSwinson@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Trade Marks
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Tax-Exempt Organizations
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Trusts and Estates
Michael N. White
Partner
478.749.9921 MWhite@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Securities Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Real Estate
  • Commercial Law
< Back to Practice Areas