Practice Area: Employment

Practice Chair: G. Grant Greenwood

Presentations + Publications
Overview

Employment

James Bates serves as general counsel for a multitude of employers across a wide spectrum of industry. Our attorneys primarily provide advice and training on equal employment opportunity issues, workplace privacy issues, general employment counseling, and the development of personnel and employment policies. In addition, our experienced attorneys can draft, review, interpret, negotiate, and defend employment contracts, employee handbooks, severance packages, and covenants not to compete on behalf of both employees and employers.

Our experience ranges from advising small businesses to large statewide and regional employers. At James Bates, we understand that no two businesses are identical. With that in mind, we strive to offer innovative and unique solutions. Our attorneys establish a personal relationship with each client, and strive to formulate a comprehensive business strategy designed with a view not only toward avoiding litigation, but doing so in a pragmatic, cost-effective manner that promotes a positive and profitable business environment.

Our attorneys are proactive and endeavor to prevent conflict from arising in the workplace. However, should litigation prove unavoidable, our attorneys are experienced in defending claims of discrimination based on race, sex, national origin, disability, retaliation and age. Our attorneys have handled the defense of numerous civil litigation matters involving federal statutes including FLSA, Title VII, ADEA, ADA, and ERISA as well as state law claims and the defense of restrictive covenants.

Employment Attorneys

Name Phone Number Email Practice Areas
Carlos Alexander
Associate
478.749.9998 CAlexander@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Litigation
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
James F. Banter
Associate
478.749.9992 JBanter@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Litigation
Christopher R. Conley
Associate
478.749.9908 CConley@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Employment
  • Insurance
  • Litigation
  • Personal Injury
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
Lee M. Gillis, Jr.
Partner
478.749.9942 LGillis@jamesbatesLLP.com
  • Insurance
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Employment
  • Construction
  • Corporate
  • Litigation
G. Grant Greenwood
Partner
478.749.9935 GGreenwood@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Construction
  • Healthcare
  • Contract Litigation
  • Appellate
  • Litigation
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
  • Insurance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
Duke R. Groover
Partner
478.749.9931 DGroover@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Employment
  • Construction
  • Litigation
  • Agriculture Law
  • Eminent Domain
  • Local Government Law
Corrie E. Hall
Associate
478.749.9949 CHall@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Subrogation
  • Employment
William P. Horkan
Partner
478.749.9960 WHorkan@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Agriculture Law
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Construction
  • Corporate
  • Employment
  • Insurance Litigation and Coverage
  • Litigation
  • Local Government Law
  • Probate & Estate Administration
John B. (Jack) Nichols
Of Counsel
478.749.9982 JNichols@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Appellate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Employment
  • Insurance
  • Litigation
Marlina A. Rogers
Associate
478.749.9987 MRogers@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Employment
  • Appellate
  • Litigation
Lauren N. Schultz
Associate
478.749.9993 LSchultz@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Local Government
  • Civil Litigation
  • Employment
  • General Liability Defense
  • Tort Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Ad Valorem Tax Appeal
  • Litigation
< Back to Practice Areas