Practice Area: Litigation

Practice Chair: Jo Lanier Meeks

Presentations + Publications
Overview

Litigation

James Bates handles a wide variety of complex litigation matters in both federal and state courts throughout the State of Georgia and surrounding states. Our litigation attorneys are experienced in negotiation, mediation and arbitration, and also offer advice to clients designed to avoid or minimize litigation exposure.

The Litigation Practice Group has a substantial amount of experience in a wide variety of complex litigation matters including, but not limited to, business torts, construction disputes, contract disputes, civil RICO, general commercial and business disputes, and healthcare disputes.

We utilize a hands-on approach to each case. Our attorneys establish a personal relationship with each client, and strive to formulate a litigation strategy with a view not only toward obtaining the best possible result, but doing so in a pragmatic, cost-effective manner that promotes the client’s objectives.

Litigation Attorneys

Name Phone Number Email Practice Areas
Carlos Alexander
Associate
478.749.9998 CAlexander@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Litigation
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
James F. Banter
Associate
478.749.9992 JBanter@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Litigation
J. William Boone
Partner
404.844.2766 BBoone@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Bankruptcy, Workouts and Reorganization
  • Mediation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Litigation
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Chapter 15 Representation
Caitlyn Clark
Associate
478.749.9970 CClark@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
Christopher R. Conley
Associate
478.749.9908 CConley@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Employment
  • Insurance
  • Litigation
  • Personal Injury
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
David S. Cromer
Associate
478.336.5503 DCromer@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Nathaniel (Nate) E. Edmonds
Associate
478.336.5512 NEdmonds@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • General Litigation
  • Insurance Litigation
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Tort Litigation
  • General Liability Defense
  • Litigation
Richard A. Epps, Jr.
Of Counsel
478.749.9917 REpps@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Real Estate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Litigation
Lee M. Gillis, Jr.
Partner
478.749.9942 LGillis@jamesbatesLLP.com
  • Insurance
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Employment
  • Construction
  • Corporate
  • Litigation
G. Grant Greenwood
Partner
478.749.9935 GGreenwood@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Construction
  • Healthcare
  • Contract Litigation
  • Appellate
  • Litigation
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
  • Insurance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
Duke R. Groover
Partner
478.749.9931 DGroover@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Employment
  • Construction
  • Litigation
  • Agriculture Law
  • Eminent Domain
  • Local Government Law
Corrie E. Hall
Associate
478.749.9949 CHall@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Subrogation
  • Employment
W. Donald Handberry
Of Counsel
478.749.9973 dhandberry@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Tort Litigation
  • Civil Litigation
  • Banking Litigation
  • Workers' Compensation Litigation
  • General Liability Defense
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Subrogation
William P. Horkan
Partner
478.749.9960 WHorkan@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Agriculture Law
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Construction
  • Corporate
  • Employment
  • Insurance Litigation and Coverage
  • Litigation
  • Local Government Law
  • Probate & Estate Administration
Thomas C. James III
Partner
478.749.9907 TJames@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Civil Litigation
  • Construction
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Creditor Bankruptcy
  • Banking
  • Transactional Planning
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Litigation
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Commercial Mediation
Senator John F. Kennedy
Partner
478.749.9981 JKennedy@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Receivership
  • Business Litigation
  • Commercial Law
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Tort Litigation
  • General Civil Litigation
  • Trial Practice
  • Business Advice
  • Railroad Defense
  • Litigation
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
Itishree Lahoti
Associate
478.749.9950 ILahoti@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Employment Law
  • Litigation
Jo Lanier Meeks
Partner
404.844.2755 JMeeks@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Litigation and Appeals
  • Financial Professional Liability Defense
  • Securities Litigation
  • Directors and Officers Liability
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
John B. (Jack) Nichols
Of Counsel
478.749.9982 JNichols@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Appellate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Employment
  • Insurance
  • Litigation
Marlina A. Rogers
Associate
478.749.9987 MRogers@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Employment
  • Appellate
  • Litigation
Dallas J. Roper
Of Counsel
478.749.9937 DRoper@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Civil Litigation
  • Business Law
  • Business Litigation
Lyn G. Schroeder
Of Counsel
404.978.7810 LSchroeder@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Business
  • Litigation
  • Securities
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Directors and Officers Liability
Lauren N. Schultz
Associate
478.749.9993 LSchultz@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Local Government
  • Civil Litigation
  • Employment
  • General Liability Defense
  • Tort Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Ad Valorem Tax Appeal
  • Litigation
Alec N. Sedki
Of Counsel
404.997.7511 ASedki@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Environmental
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Construction Law
  • Litigation
William J. Sheppard
Partner
404.997.6026 WSheppard@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Environmental
  • Construction
  • Partnership
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Real Estate Development
  • Eminent Domain
  • Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Kim H. Stroup
Of Counsel
478.749.9929 KStroup@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Creditor Bankruptcy
  • Probate Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Real Estate
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Adoptions
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Eminent Domain
Rachel R. Turnbull
Associate
478.749.9913 RTurnbull@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Insurance
  • Litigation
Michael N. White
Partner
478.749.9921 MWhite@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Securities Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Real Estate
  • Commercial Law
< Back to Practice Areas