Practice Area: Litigation

Practice Chair: Jo Lanier Meeks

Presentations + Publications
Overview

Litigation

James Bates handles a wide variety of complex litigation matters in both federal and state courts throughout the State of Georgia and surrounding states. Our litigation attorneys are experienced in negotiation, mediation and arbitration, and also offer advice to clients designed to avoid or minimize litigation exposure.

The Litigation Practice Group has a substantial amount of experience in a wide variety of complex litigation matters including, but not limited to, business torts, construction disputes, contract disputes, civil RICO, general commercial and business disputes, and healthcare disputes.

We utilize a hands-on approach to each case. Our attorneys establish a personal relationship with each client, and strive to formulate a litigation strategy with a view not only toward obtaining the best possible result, but doing so in a pragmatic, cost-effective manner that promotes the client’s objectives.

Litigation Attorneys

Name Phone Number Email Practice Areas
Carlos Alexander
Associate
478.749.9998 CAlexander@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Employment
J. William Boone
Partner
404.844.2766 BBoone@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Bankruptcy, Workouts and Reorganization
  • Mediation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Litigation
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Christopher J. Daniels
Associate
404.997.7519 CDaniels@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
Lee M. Gillis, Jr.
Partner
478.749.9942 LGillis@jamesbatesLLP.com
  • Insurance
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Employment
  • Construction
  • Corporate
  • Eminent Domain
  • Litigation
G. Grant Greenwood
Partner
478.749.9935 GGreenwood@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Employment
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Construction
  • Healthcare
  • Contract Litigation
  • Appellate
  • Litigation
  • Probate Litigation
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
  • Insurance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
Duke R. Groover
Partner
478.749.9931 DGroover@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Employment
  • Construction
  • Litigation
  • Healthcare Regulation and Litigation
  • Appellate
  • Eminent Domain
Corrie E. Hall
Associate
478.749.9949 CHall@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Subrogation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Litigation
Mary Beth Hand
Of Counsel
478.749.9987 MBHand@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Employment
  • Appellate
  • Litigation
W. Donald Handberry
Of Counsel
478.749.9973 dhandberry@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
  • Tort Litigation
  • Civil Litigation
  • Banking Litigation
  • Workers' Compensation Litigation
  • General Liability Defense
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Subrogation
William P. Horkan
Partner
478.749.9960 WHorkan@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Agriculture Law
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Construction
  • Corporate
  • Employment
  • Insurance Litigation and Coverage
  • Litigation
  • Local Government Law
  • Probate Litigation
Thomas C. James III
Partner
478.749.9907 TJames@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Civil Litigation
  • Construction
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Creditor Bankruptcy
  • Banking
  • Transactional Planning
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Litigation
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Restrictive Covenants
Senator John F. Kennedy
Partner
478.749.9981 JKennedy@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Receivership
  • Business Litigation
  • Commercial Law
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Tort Litigation
  • General Civil Litigation
  • Trial Practice
  • Business Advice
  • Railroad Defense
  • Litigation
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
Jacqueline Kennedy-Dvorak
Associate
478.749.9917 JDvorak@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Eminent Domain
  • Employment
  • General Liability Defense
  • Insurance Litigation
  • Tort and General Civil Litigation
Jo Lanier Meeks
Partner
404.844.2755 JMeeks@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Litigation and Appeals
  • Financial Professional Liability Defense
  • Securities Litigation
  • Directors and Officers Liability
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
John B. (Jack) Nichols
Of Counsel
478.749.9982 JNichols@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Employment
  • Insurance
William H. Noland
Of Counsel
478.749.9975 WNoland@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Mediation
  • Arbitration
  • Litigation
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Insurance Law
  • Local Government Law
Dallas J. Roper
Of Counsel
478.749.9937 DRoper@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Civil Litigation
  • Business Law
  • Business Litigation
Lauren N. Schultz
Associate
478.749.9993 LSchultz@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Insurance
Alec N. Sedki
Of Counsel
404.997.7511 ASedki@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Environmental
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Construction Law
  • Litigation
Marty K. Senn
Of Counsel
478.749.9979 MSenn@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Insurance
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Employment
  • Construction
  • Corporate Law
  • Litigation
  • Medical Malpractice
William J. Sheppard
Partner
404.997.6026 WSheppard@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Environmental
  • Construction
  • Partnership
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Real Estate
  • Development
  • Eminent Domain
  • Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Kim H. Stroup
Of Counsel
478.749.9929 KStroup@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Creditor Bankruptcy
  • Probate Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Real Estate
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Adoptions
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Eminent Domain
Rachel R. Turnbull
Associate
478.749.9913 RTurnbull@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Insurance
  • Litigation
Michael N. White
Partner
478.749.9921 MWhite@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Securities Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Real Estate
  • Commercial Law
Kathryn S. Willis
Of Counsel
478.749.9914 KWillis@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Eminent Domain
  • Employment
  • General Liability Defense
  • Healthcare
  • Insurance
  • Real Estate
  • Personal Injury/Insurance Litigation
  • Tort Litigation
  • Civil Litigation
  • Probate Matters
Doroteya N. Wozniak
Associate
404.997.6031 DWozniak@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Business
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
< Back to Practice Areas