Practice Area: Real Estate

Real Estate

Many business transactions include the sale, tax-free exchange or mortgage of real property as a component of the transaction. Our real estate attorneys work with the firm’s business attorneys to achieve the client’s objectives in these matters. Similarly many estate planning transactions and estate and trust administration matters involve real estate issues, and our Real Estate Practice Group provides needed assistance in these areas as well.

The firm’s real estate practice includes commercial and multi-family residential real estate and timberland transactions. Our attorneys draft mortgage instruments, leases, restrictive covenants, and other documents related to both commercial and multi-family residential real estate transactions. We assist our clients in responding to the challenges and opportunities of the real estate markets, often utilizing innovative and sophisticated approaches in order to meet our clients’ objectives.

In addition to our standard commercial loan closing services, we have a robust government-guaranteed loan closing practice (SBA and USDA loans). Because government-guaranteed lending is a specialized type of lending, it is particularly important for those types of loans to be closed by lawyers –like ours– well-versed in the requirements that must be satisfied to preserve the government guaranty for the benefit of the bank.

We also handle construction loans, timberland transactions, condemnation proceedings, planning and zoning matters, and advise clients on landlord-tenant issues, foreclosures, and a variety of other real property matters.

Real Estate Attorneys

Name Phone Number Email Practice Areas
Andrew T. Barksdale
Associate
404.844.2768 ABarksdale@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Healthcare
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
T. Daniel Brannan
Partner
404.997.6023 DBrannan@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Real Estate
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
Heather D. Hestley
Of Counsel
404.997.6032 HHestley@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate Law
  • Business Law
  • Real Estate
  • Government Guaranteed Lending (SBA, USDA)
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Sara Kate Rumsey
Associate
404.997.7516 SKRumsey@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Healthcare
Ross S. Schell
Of Counsel
478.749.9927 RSchell@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Real Estate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
William J. Sheppard
Partner
404.997.6026 WSheppard@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Environmental
  • Construction
  • Partnership
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Real Estate
  • Development
  • Eminent Domain
  • Litigation
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
John W. Sillay
Associate
478.749.9923 JSillay@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
Thomas A. Simpson
Of Counsel
404.997.7506 TSimpson@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Commercial Agreements
  • Real Estate
  • Regulatory Compliance
Bryson M. Smith
Associate
404.997.7505 BSmith@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Real Estate
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Kim H. Stroup
Of Counsel
478.749.9929 KStroup@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Creditor Bankruptcy
  • Probate Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Real Estate
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Adoptions
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Eminent Domain
Michael N. White
Partner
478.749.9921 MWhite@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Securities Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Real Estate
  • Commercial Law
Kathryn S. Willis
Associate
478.749.9914 KWillis@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Litigation
  • Eminent Domain
  • Employment
  • General Liability Defense
  • Healthcare
  • Insurance
  • Real Estate
  • Personal Injury/Insurance Litigation
  • Tort Litigation
  • Civil Litigation
< Back to Practice Areas